Discussions

I got this email today from Twitter. It said something like this:

Hello [my name]!

Glad to see you have decided to restore your Twitter account! Click this link
[ridiculously long url]
If you'd like to stay deleted, just don't click the link.

This email was sent to one of my email addresses that I never used to sign up for Twitter, and the domain name of the sender email was "postmaster.twitter.com" rather than just "twitter.com". Smells like a scam to me. Anyone else receive this?

Reply

User Comments

  1. husdal
    Didn't get one, but obvious scam. The 'we will delete you if you don't log in' is a tell-tale giveaway, besides the long and probably not even remotely similar to twitter URL.
    1. Rainhat
      the url did start with twitter dot com/account/confirm_restore=my email address blah blah blah

      Perhaps a scam to hijack email addresses for twitter accounts or something?
    2. husdal
      Probably. I'm not sure why highjacking a Twitter account would be useful, besides sending out spam, or pretending to be you and asking your followers to send some personal details, which in turn can be used for something. Anyway, I'd just hit delete and forget along with all the other please-reverify-your-account-with-some-bank scam mails I'm getting from time to time.
    3. timethief
      @hudal
      Good advice.
  2. singaporecaddy
    So many of these ... sigh
  3. harriselizabeth
    ^There are a lot of such kind of messages circulating around Twitter.
  4. LolitaV
    dunno about that but i won 35$ on twitter so i am happ-E
  5. timethief
    I haven't received such an email but I smell a scam too.
  6. clioandme
    It's called phish.

Add Your Comment

Login to leave a message.