Discussions

It's in Italian. I know. I understand it.
But the beauty is that YOU DON'T NEED TO UNDERSTAND IT IN ORDER TO SEE THE PROBLEM.

First one who provides the good answer - thumbs up!


Subject: Comunicazione Urgente nr. 73849 del 01 08 2007 - Leggere con attenzione
From: "Banca di Roma" ufficio@bancadiroma.it

Gentile CLIENTE,

Nell'ambito di un progetto di verifica dei data anagrafici forniti durante la
sottoscrizione dei

servizi di Banca Di Roma e stata riscontrata una incongruenza relativa ai dati
anagrafici in

oggetto da Lei forniti all momento della sottoscrizione contrattuale.



L'inserimento dei dati alterati puo costituire motivo di interruzione del servizio
secondo gli

art. 135 e 137/c da Lei accettati al momento della sottoscrizione, oltre a
costituire reato

penalmente perseguibile secondo il C.P.P ar.415 del 2001 relativo alla legge contro il

riciclaggio e la transparenza deidati forniti in auto certificazione.



Per ovviare al problema e necessaria la verifica e l'aggiornamento dei dati relativi

all'anagrafica dell'Intestatario dei servizi bancari.

Effetuare l'aggiornamento dei dati cliccando sul seguente collegamento sicuro:

Accedi a collegamento sicuro >>

Cordiali Saluti

Reply

User Comments

  1. jrgarralda
    Looks like a phishing email.
  2. oiloffmar
    Yes, you are right! Congrats!
    You have a trained eye!
  3. ThriftShopRomantic
    From the looks of it, it's threatening to interrupt your banking services if you don't "verify" your data with them? (Which of course isn't with them at all UNTIL a person inadvertently GIVES it to them.... )

    And you know, SOMEONE out there will fall for it.
  4. oiloffmar
    Now to show the headers where you can get CRUCIAL info:

    Return-path: ufficio@bancadiroma.it
    Delivery-date: Wed, 08 Aug 2007 17:21:49 -0600
    Received: from mail.charlottewebpros.com ([204.11.214.82])
    (envelope-from ufficio@bancadiroma.it)
    Reply-To: ozlamer@yahoo.com
    From: "Banca di Roma" ufficio@bancadiroma.it
    Subject: Comunicazione Urgente nr. 73849 del 01 08 2007 - Leggere con attenzione

    Now to explain:
    1. Received: from mail.charlottewebpros.com - this means the email was sent from someone hosted on charlottewebpros.com;
    2. [204.11.214.82] is the originating IP. 204.11.214.82 is from US, Texas, and not from Italy. Why would an Italian bank use a US hoster and a US IP? Correct answer: It wouldn't!
    3. envelope-from ufficio@bancadiroma.it - this means that at first sight (not checking the full headers), the email APPEARS to come from bancadiroma.it
    4. Reply-To: ozlamer@yahoo.com - this means that when you reply, your email is sent to a fraudster, ozlamer@yahoo.com, and not to ufficio@bancadiroma.it

    So, this is simply phishing but can easily fool you. Keep your eyes open.

Add Your Comment

Login to leave a message.