Discussions

I've got a wordpress blog, how can I go about blocking a blog that is sucking in my feed and integrating it as their own content?

Reply

User Comments

  1. kudy
    I just asked in a stern sort of way, and the website that was copying me removed the copy:

    www.upcsite.net/content/google_can_be_frustrating.html

    I imagine it might not be that easy for you, do you know how they are doing it? Is it scraping your feed? I know I've read lots of suggestions on how to deal with this, but I can't remember any of them right now. If I remember, I'll get back to you.
    1. mobiwan
      They're scraping my feed and many others.
  2. crkian
    Make ten posts about how the bloke/woman is a stealing your content, then watch them appear on the site and delete them from your site
  3. crkian
    Or post at the bottom of the post 'If your reading this somewhere other than ******** it has been copied, please leave a rude comment and click on their google ads thousands of times'
    1. jymster
      Clicking their google ads a thousand times... good one!
    2. mobiwan
      Oddly enough it's not monitized.
  4. jymster
    "..a blog that is sucking in my feed.."
    One way is to configure your feed system to deny the offending site(s).
  5. jymster
    I did a quick search, didn't really find any plug-ins that blacklist/bans certain sites. Instead I found "Angsuman's Feed Copyrighter" @ codex.wordpress.org/Plugins/Syndication

    Maybe it is useful.
    1. mobiwan
      Well, I installed that plugin but I'm not seeing it have any impact.
  6. crkian
    Get all of us here to overload his blog with comments against him
    1. mobiwan
      Nice idea! It's this joker (www.wirelessarticles.com) but the blog won't allow users to sign up to leave comments and the domain owner appears to be the IT Contact at the host though I've not run that to ground yet.
  7. crkian
    appears to be down
  8. mobiwan
    It's back.
  9. jymster
    Excerpt from blog.taragana.com/index.php/archive/wordpress-plugin-to-automatically-add-c...

    "Note:
    The copyright message is displayed only when full text of the articles are syndicated."
    1. mobiwan
      I've got full text enabled.
    1. mobiwan
      Yeah... they're givin me that nice PR 0 juice

      I'm seeing if I can get this plugin to work
      wordpress.org/extend/plugins/copyfeed/
    2. mobiwan
      This plugin doesn't work; it loads and will let you configure it but none of the changes are saved back to the database.
  10. crkian
    There is currently no default document set for this directory. To create a default document, create a file in this directory named either "Default.asp" or "Default.htm" or go to the "parking" section in your webhosting control panel.



    Wont work for me
  11. kirewass
    "wirelessarticles.com" seems to be a "WP-Autoblog", and stealing content with this plugin is obviously easy. The splogger doesn't have to do anything. It´s fully automatized. Original posts made by you and a software made by Elliott Back.
    elliottback.com/wp/archives/2006/06/06/wp-autoblog-a-syndication-plugin/.
    Not meant for sploggers. But there are groups of people out there who will make their living by stealing other people´s hard work and clutter the Internet with junk. It is sad.

    Not all sploggers use ads. Ad revenue isn’t the main purpose.

    There’s much more that I could say here, but I won´t.
    1. markstoneman
      So what would be the purpose? Pretend they are a professional and have a blog for their c.v.? What am I missing?
  12. markstoneman
    Can you figure out who is hosting the thing? Maybe they would care.
  13. crkian
    The whole site wants reporting they host domain names they are selling and add copied content to all of them

    domainsource.com/search.asp?nxtrec=140&recos=20&sort=W


    If you are interested in possibly purchasing the domain WIRELESSARTICLES.COM. Please fill out the following form. Our staff will get back to you within 24 hours. We have been helping people get great domain names for 6 ½ years. It is a pleasure to serve you!


    Domain Source, Inc.
    Andrew Sievright (domainsource@domainsource.com)
    +1.5705949417
    Fax: +1.5302420990
    PO Box 720520
    Redding, CA 96099-7520
    US

    Give the twat a call


    They in turn are hosted by these www.registrarpdq.com


    Whois Privacy Protection Service, Inc.
    Whois Agent (btmfxvggg@whoisprivacyprotect.com)
    +1.4252740657
    Fax: +1.4256960234
    PMB 368, 14150 NE 20th St - F1
    C/O registrarpdq.com
    Bellevue, WA 98007
    US

    Some interesting articles on domainsource

    www.animenewsnetwork.com/feature/2001-01-10

    www.ericdalton.com/

    www.domainstatute.com/domain-name-disputes/naf4/741767.html
    1. mobiwan
      -->
      domainsource.com/search.asp?nxtrec=140&recos=20&sort=W

      It appears that they might be susceptable to a sql injection attack

      Lets see how they like having that posted about their site.... something like truncate tablexyz comes to mind!

      But I don't endorse that
  14. mobiwan
    Thanks a bunch! I'm gonna try a DMCA notice to the host and see if I can get the site shut down.

    This is the first time I've tried this so I'll Document how to do that here for other bloggers that are having their posts scrapped.

    If I was hosting my own feed I'd be able to block this site from my .htaccess file but I host it at FeedBurner.
    1. crkian
      Doesnt it go through your site before it gets to feedburner, im sure it does
    2. mobiwan
      It does but I don't know how I'd filter this site out because they can just snag my feed from Feedburner. I'd have to move my feed back to my site and then I can filter but I suspect they'd follow that up with proxy requests.

      My concern is that I just got my blog off the ground and I'm floating between 80-90 readers, I think I'll lose some ground there if I move the feedback. Anyone else run into this dilemma?
    3. crkian
      It just seems strange that he hasnt been shut down yet what with all the high profile lawsuits against him, says a lot for the net if hes still going.
  15. kirewass
    Mobiwan: I have been dealing with a splogger ... done this and done that... searching for e-mail addresses, reporting abuse to the host, writing a DMCA notice, made splog reports ....... The site is still up and running and has reached PR3 by now. It was a Wordpress splog too, and they are becoming more and more popular.

    I changed my feed. No more scraping of my blog, but I lost feed readers.
    1. mobiwan
      Thanks, I'll let you know how it goes for me. How did you find info on writing your DMCA notice or did you have an attorney handle that for you?

      Update: I found a sample take down notice here:
      en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DMCA
  16. kirewass
    No, you don´t need an attourney. Most hosts accept email DMCA notices. So take the notice, add in your own information and send it.
    You will find an example of "DMCA Notice of Copyright Infringement Letter" here: futurequest.net/Services/TOS/DMCA/DMCANotice.php.
  17. davidspan
    block their ip from your feed, use domain tools ( www.domaintools.com/ ) to find their servers ip, while your their find their hosting provider and send them an email.

    If you complain to their hosting provider and they do not respond write a post to this message board www.webhostingtalk.com/

    Ask your hosting provider to block their ip address, Also I remember finding a wordpress plugin that did the same.
    1. mobiwan
      The thing is, I've got FeedBurner hosting my feed. Makes me wonder if that was the right decision because now I've lost this control and it's critical to me because of things like duplicate content issues and 0 PR links pointing back to my site. It looks like a bad neighborhood thing.

      I wonder what would happen if Google were to crawl and index the splog prior to mine and where that would leave my site from a duplicate content standpoint.
  18. jungl
    This really sucks!
    How did you find his site copying your content?
    1. mobiwan
      It started showing up in my wordpress inbound links, so I went looking to see if a backlink or comment was worthy on my part and that's when I realized what was going on.
    2. v1ctorya
      Odd timing, I just checked my technorati links and there is a spam blog on their that has picked up one of my posts. WTF?
  19. davidspan
    There is one other thought, I know google will ban a site for such a thing if they have google ads on their site. I'm not sure but I think most ad services are starting to take the same stance.

    Here's where yo need to go to inform google
    www.google.com/adsense_dmca.html
  20. michaelmartine
    Google might de-index it anyway if you report it to them, just because it doesn't do anything of value for anyone, regardless of any AdSense on it or not.

Add Your Comment

Login to leave a message.