Discussions

My blog was listed by an organisation called OnlineCollege.org, supposedly "the top 10 online colleges for a large variety of accredited degrees".

I have never heard of purely on-line colleges in Australia, nor have I heard of these American colleges in particular. So I don't know whether to be pleased or annoyed with the listing. Perhaps someone in blogcatalog knows something about it.

Reply

User Comments

  1. husdal
    The U of Phoenix is legit enough. I don't know the others. Onlinecollege appears to just a portal site, which is legitimate enough in itself, at least it doesn't look spammy. And the whois record shows a person, not a hidden ID, the tell-tale sign of a spammer. Google PR5, another sign of a legit site. And it's also not monetized with sleazy ads. I would not be worried if they listed me.

    Oh, BTW, Melbourne really is a nice city.
    1. Hels
      husdal, excellent!

      If a PhD comes from the bottom of a Wheatbix pack, I really don't want to have anything to do with that "university".

      If you believe onlinecollege.org is a portal site to bona fide institutions, more power to them! They listed some excellent blogs which can be really useful to students. And staff.

      And yes, Melbourne is gorgeous. But more so in spring, summer and autumn. Winter is not my favourite time. Rock on beach weather!
    2. husdal
      If you believe onlinecollege.org is a portal site to bona fide institutions, more power to them! They listed some excellent blogs which can be really useful to students. And staff.

      Which was more or less my point. The site itself doesn't do much, but it could be useful in terms of traffic and authority (Google PR) boost for your own blog, but they list so many, so I'm not sure your share will be that great anyway.

      I would monitor how much visitors it brings in, but there are probably a lot worse sites that could have links going to you...I'm sometimes amazed at what is out there...

Add Your Comment

Login to leave a message.