Discussions

Earlier today, I got an email about SocialMatic, from someone who referenced my profile on this site. I decided to try it out with one blog and registered for my free account. Fortunately, before I completed my registration, I read the terms & conditions, which included an agreement that any content submitted would be subject to a Public Domain Creative Commons license.

This is a good reminder to read the T & C and know what you're getting into--the web is full of sites like this that look just like any other social bookmarking site or other beneficial service, but might have ramifications you aren't expecting.

Reply

User Comments

  1. offendedblogger
    Funny, I got the same email. It was addressed to me personally, and it also said that they found me here at BC.

    I read the TOS as well, and declined for the exact same reason.
  2. MadameX
    Wonder how many people DIDN'T read the terms.
    1. offendedblogger
      Hopefully none, but I'm sure there were plenty.

      At least this thread gives fair warning to those who haven't signed up yet.
  3. seaglassorganic
    I also got that email & saved it for later so I could look into it. Glad I waited! Thanks
  4. Jeunelle
    Thanks for the heads up. I am not a member of Socialmatic
    In fact this is the 1st of heard of them.
  5. cooper
    similar to zimbio isn't it?
  6. timethief
    @Madame X
    Thanks for the heads up. It's much appreciated.
  7. RecycleCindy
    Thank you all for the heads up concerning Socialmatic. The site was mentioned last week and I hadn't gotten around to checking into them and am glad now that I didn't pursue it. Once again I am thankful for the group knowledge and sharing that BC provides.
  8. robertstevenson
    I appreciate the tip. I find that I start reading terms and conditions, but never finish. This is a good reminder. Thanks.
    1. MadameX
      That's exactly what the unscrupulous bank on, Rob.

      Many years ago, I made some sort of similar discovery about a site that my sister and her friends were using. None of them had been aware. She sent out a message to them that said, in part, "My sister learned this using a trick she learned in law school called 'reading the terms and conditions'."

      I thought she was kidding, but after years on the Internet, I'm not so sure.
  9. wilbau
    @ ...which included an agreement that any content submitted would be subject to a Public Domain Creative Commons license.

    I didn't completely understand this so here is a link for explanation:

    creativecommons.org/licenses/publicdomain/

    I guess the point is that when you submit your own stuff it becomes Public Domain.
    1. crkian
      Which would mean anybody could use it anywhere they wanted.
  10. ThriftShopRomantic
    When we were discussing this the other day, folks felt that it was the personalization and the insistence that we hadn't responded that both got our attention but raised the red flag.

    I hadn't gotten so far as to check out their terms, because I didn't care for the pushy, "I invited you and you still haven't taken me up on it" attitude.
  11. clioandme
    Insistence public domain via the TOS? That is almost dirty. Even worse than Zimbio.
  12. crkian
    www.blogcatalog.com/user/GatherSuccess send any questions to him regarding what is on the site
  13. myriadlife
    Good tip, thanks Madame X
  14. TonyB
    Anyone receiving spam in their shoutboxes about this? If you are, whose the member?
    1. thefly
      I dont know whose sending them but I got this spam in my e-mail. How are they obtaining huge amounts of e-mails to send spam. Has someone hacked your database? I dont want to receive spam by giving you guys my e-mail. I go to great effort not to receive spam, I would appreciate it if you guys looked into it. Thanks Buzz Buzz.
    2. MadameX
      Fly, there's a link to your email in your blogger profile.
    3. thefly
      I know, but they cant just be going to each profile and copying and pasting huge amounts of e-mails just to spam. You see what Im saying.
    4. thegoodknife
      it seems socialmatic automatically crawls blogs looking for e-mail addresses.
    5. MadameX
      I'm not sure that they're not. The email that I got included a link to my BC profile within the text, and we're all getting them at intervals.
    6. thefly
      Well thats annoying I must say. Well, Ive only got one e-mail from them so I just hope it doesn't get worse than that. I have two e-mail accounts anyway.
    7. TonyB
      thegoodknife, could they be getting into the back end somehow?
    8. thegoodknife
      nope, they are definitely crawling, either the blogs themselves or BC, i was seeing them on a lot of widgets before i turned off their account here at BC.
    9. timethief
      That really stinks. They haven't spammed me yet. I'll be on the watch for them.
    10. ThriftShopRomantic
      I think it is probably at least partially manually done, due to the BC profile reference as well as the direct email through the Blogger profile. They also used my first name in the email.
  15. Anok
    I have yet to be spammed by them, maybe they are afraid of Anarchists
    1. pointlessbanter
      me either... perhaps they don't like perverts either.
    2. Anok
      Oh yes, we mustn't forget the perverts
    3. pointlessbanter
      I think I read somewhere that the perverts would inherit the earth.
  16. crkian
    Surely the member who owns the site should step up and give some answers

    just to prove its www.blogcatalog.com/user/GatherSuccess who owns it here is when he announced it

    www.blogcatalog.com/discuss/entry/new-web-20-website-need-some-comments
    1. clioandme
      The silence doesn't speak highly of the member, does it? But the spamming and high pressure comports with the member's apparent lack of comprehension about how a social network might actually be leveraged.
  17. RecycleCindy
    Just an update to say that today I received an email from SocailMatic. They are using BC to get information. Here is the opening paragraph of the email.

    I'm Alicia from SocialMatic Team. I've came across your site through your profile at www.blogcatalog.com/user/recyclecindy and I'm pleased to inform you that your site are interesting and worth sharing to other users online. Hence I would like to invite you to join the Socialmatic network and hope you can share your favourites sites and bookmark through SocialMatic.

    Is this the same email others have received?
    1. MadameX
      I got that one.

Add Your Comment

Login to leave a message.