Discussions

I need an answer from some computer geek here. I just decided to submit my blog at blogtoplist.com and this is what they told me to do:

Paste the following HTML-code into your blog to add the button:
(!-- Begin BlogToplist tracker code --)
(a href="http://www.blogtoplist.com/food-drink/" title="Food & Drink blogs")
(img src="http://www.blogtoplist.com/tracker.php?u=26493" alt="Food & Drink blogs" border="0" /)(/a)
(noscript)(a href="http://www.amanda-jenssen.com")Amanda Jenssen(/a)(/noscript)
(!-- End BlogToplist tracker code --)

Everything looks fine to me, except for the part with the Amanda Jenssen site. What is she doing in my code and why would I need that promotion on my site? Is this some hidden link? Not sure I want to be on blogtoplist now. FYI, Amanda Jenssen is one of the contestants in the Swedish version of American Idol.

Reply

User Comments

  1. Rozie818
    There are a few different Amanda Jenssen on the google search
    I have no clue why he is in there, I thought maybe he was the coder
    But I didn't find anything for him like that.
    Maybe it's a pop up ad for Idol
    post the link with the code so we could see what happens
    1. kopidunia
      The link is on my blog www.kopidunia.com (right sidebar, at the bottom). Nothing happens, and the button looks ok, no pop ups as far as I can see, but I don't like having something on my blog I don't know what is or don't know for sure how it behaves.
  2. monkeytale
    I'm pretty sure you're supposed to insert your url in there and your name rather than theirs as well to replace that one is my guess.
  3. Rozie818
    check out her code at
    www.amanda-jenssen.com
    different than what you have
  4. crkian
    Would most likely produce a popup or a fake backlink, just remove it
  5. kopidunia
    Well, mikster, the instructions make no mention of that, but you could be right, and BTW, blogtoplist appears to be Swedish-owned, which may account for some rather akward English. Conspiracy theories anyone?
  6. crkian
    Is it worth using a directory that has underhand tactics like that.
  7. kopidunia
    Thanks crkian, thought so.
  8. kopidunia
    crkian, you're right, better stick to BC...more friendly people here :-)
  9. Rozie818
    LOL
    don't use it - or see if there is other codes
    Nothing happened on your site from it, but who know, it may automatically cast votes for her or something, and if she stinks that would suck
  10. kopidunia
    To fuel the conspiracy theory...blogtoplist's whois-records are not listed (protected)...hmmm, what serious business does that?
  11. crkian
    Or use it and revoce the part with reference to the site
  12. exinco
    emm.. may be what so called shadow/grey marketing

Add Your Comment

Login to leave a message.